Local Fiber and Events!!

20 Aug

I have learned that living in Wyoming, which has quite a bit of ranches, there really aren’t any big “fiber festivals”.  At least, if there are any they aren’t advertised very much in my area.  It would be really nice to see one large fiber festival that brings together the ranches statewide and really show case the fiber arts here.  Currently, the closest one that is coming up is in Scotts Bluff Nebraska, the Scotts Bluff Valley Fiber Arts Fair, which is Friday September 14th and Saturday September 15th this year.  I have never been to a fiber festival, but it would really like to go and see what they are all about.

In my area there is a local Alpaca ranch, Sun Gate Alpacas,  that I usually only see when they come into town for our local Farmer’s Market to sell yarn, roving…ect.  This year I bought an adorable woven scarf, and a great skein of Alpaca yarn that shows pictures of the alpaca they came from.  They are having an “open house” type of thing on September 22nd with events for the kiddos, I think I will be stopping by to check out their alpaca and browse their shop to support the local fiber as much as I can.

I recently also learned about a Fiber Mill in Buffalo, Wyoming that processes wool fiber from around the state thanks to Open Spaces on Wyoming Public Radio.  It is called Mountain Meadow Wool and according to the what I heard, all their yarns and fibers tell you where in the state it came from.  This place is definitely on my radar, I have already favorited/liked them on Facebook and Ravelry and am doing my best to get the word out.  It is important for our state, that has communities so spread out across our big state, to keep things local, so often things are done out of state because we just don’t have the resources, so I am just loving that there is one local Mill that I know of…..but it is a big state maybe there are more that I haven’t come across.

There is my shout our to Local Fiber Folks!….keep up the good work!

Wyoming Sheep, found on Mountain Meadow Wool site

2 Responses to “Local Fiber and Events!!”

  1. Caren August 21, 2012 at 5:07 pm #

    Lucy’s Sheep Camp is another one in Wyoming. Dancing sheep sells yarn from them as well as Mountain Meadow Wool I believe 🙂 Love the post!

    • Bina T. August 21, 2012 at 11:43 pm #

      Thanks for the info, I love seeing the locate fiber folks!

Leave a Reply

