May Already!

1 May

May sure snuck up on me! I have been knitting like crazy and feel like I haven’t gotten too much done.  I know every knitter has had this same thought: “I need to learn how to knit in my sleep”, but I have been keeping busy, and seeing results, so I am not sure where this feeling of unproductivity has come from, maybe the same place the feeling of April just whizzing by 🙂

We found out that my family member who was expecting is having a little girl, and I am super excited to be knitting wee little things!  I knit up the Vertebrae Cardi in some new yarn from my LYS, The Dancing Sheep, it is called Smooshy from Dream in Color, and the color I used was called Great Peach.  It is a fingering weight yarn in adorable peach, pink, and orange colors, and though a bit if a hit to my pocket book at $23 -ish I got plenty of yarn in some great colors and machine washable!  The hank is enough to knit up two of the vertebrae cardi, something I will definitely keep in mind because I loved knitting it.

I also decided that since I had enough yarn I would knit up some matching socks. (the colors are a little off, but you get the idea)

I have also been slowly working on a cowl out of the yarn I bought recently while in Boulder, CO for a concert.  There is a great little Yarn Store called Gypsy Wools that hand dye and hand spin their yarn so of course I had to figure out how to stop in, especially when it was right next to our hotel.   I walked away with 3 hanks:

I got a worsted weight skien of “XF Merino/Alpaca” , in a beautiful magenta, A blue Lace weight “Pony” and a Sport weight “Prime Alpaca” in a purple gray which is currently on the needles as the Lilac Wine Cowl , but it is taking me awhile to finish it, so I keep bouncing between that and other projects.  I also finally recieved my yarn bowl that was suppose to be my Christmas Present, ended up arriving 6 months after ordered, but I have to admit, it’s beautiful.  My sister and brother- in-law found it on etsy, but unfortunately I don’t know which seller.

I also just cast on last night for the Nyanen Tee, in malabrigo lace cinnamon orange color, hoping it turns out close to the beautiful image she has for it

 

 

So there is quite a bit going on, but will admit that I need to do some serious knitting for the shop, I am thinking I need to cast on something quick like a couple of berets or mittens and just get them knocked out for the fall.

Leave a Reply

