Spring Knitting Progress

22 Mar

Finally getting around to posting pictures about my progress.  Here is a picture of my Age of Brass kerchief scarf.  I added one more pattern repeat.  It is knit in Malabrigo Silk DK in a sunny yellow. I had 3 skeins but it only took me a little over 2 skeins (now I have to figure out what to do with the rest).  I love this yarn, it is soft, light-weight and the perfect amount of warmth for a crisp spring day!  I already had friends ask me to knit them one! If  you have been on the fence about knitting this pattern it is very easy, the hardest part is starting it, but after you get that, it is a breeze! 

Image

Here is what is currently on my needles: the Cascade Beret I posted about before.  My original plan was to get it done by St. Patty’s day, instead I started it the day after.  I am knitting out of Blue Sky Alpaca Sport.  The pattern is easy to follow and I love the two different patterns in it, but because it is using smaller weight yarn and it is more complicated than just stockinette, it is taking me awhile to finish.  It also doesn’t help that there has been some remodeling going on at our place. 

Image

Both of the yarns I used for the above projects I bought from a LYS: The Dancing Sheep.  When I bought the yarn I was informed that they will no longer be carrying the Malabrigo brand yarn 😦 I guess I will still have the internet.

There is also a new LYS in town as well, The Blooming Needle. I love seeing new local businesses open up and I am looking forward to see what types of Fibers the new store gets in, so far the owner is still getting stock and the only brands I have been are Berroco and Cascade.  

Here is what I bought when I was at the new store last Thursday:  Berroco Vintage and Ultra Alpaca:

Image

And thinks to my new diet I have a new vice.  I use to go to treat myself to a candy bar when I went to the grocery store.  Now I treat myself to sugar free Altoids and knitting magazines.  I loved the stripped blouse on the cover and wonder if one day I will find the time and finances to make my own.

Image

Leave a Reply

