Archive | 10:36 pm

Venturing into Teaching…

25 Oct

2 weeks since my last post already?!  Time is just flying by and there is not a lot of new ventures in my knitting life.  I have been enjoying teaching a couple of lady friends how to knit, one of which is left handed, so that has been an adventure and a challenge at time.  I think they are starting to see the benefits of the craft though I am not sure they are going to become obsessed like some of us :).   Teaching knitting has taken me back a couple of years ago when I started to learn and then look at how far I have come.  If anyone is thinking about teaching, I recommend these patterns from http://www.ravelry.com:

Dishcloths:

They are knit flat, small, and you can play around with teaching different stitch patterns as well as gauge it doesn’t get any better than that.  Here are a couple of good ones online, but the skies the limit with these guys :):

Headbands:

The second project I taught the ladies to introduce increases and decreases was a simple flowered headband.  Though we will also need to tackle some crocheting techniques, this is a fun project so they can visually see how the stitches slant and it is small enough for instant gradification
Next on my list of things to Teach….

Circular knitting.

I am thinking about showing them a simple ribbed baby hat (especially since one just had her second little boy), but I can not decide if circular needles are better or if DPNs would work.  I personally like DPNs and think they illustrate the concept of circular knitting better than circular needles do, but I will just have to see where the road takes us 🙂