Knitting Fall/Winter Wishlist

11 Oct

So many things to knit, so little time, especially this time of year.  I have been busily knitting a combination of gifts and things for myself, and know that I need to make some new items for my shop as well, especially a couple new styles of mittens.

Every year I tell myself I am going to be smart and stock up over the summer and spring months to prepare for this time of year, but somehow it never works out between work and getting out and enjoying the nice weather.

And even though I have knit a couple of quick things for myself this month, I am bombarded by my knitting Christmas list and knitting things for the shop that I just want to knit hibernate and knit a few winter/fall things for myself, just a few selfish knitting projects.

I was yet again inspired by Caren at Sereknitty & Purls to list what items are on my personal knit-wish-list.  Here are just a few things that I hope to knit for myself during the cold months

Frothy Seas Moebius

 

I already have several skeins of malabrigo DK weight silk blend yarn in black that is just screaming for me to knit it into a beautiful wrap/scarf for the upcoming Christmas party. I should have enough to not only make this, but also a small cowl of some kind 🙂

Convertible Mittens!

I have knit a handful of mittens in my knitting career, all of which I have gifted or sold.  I recently realized I don’t have a pair of my own! I don’t even have gloves.  I think it is about time that I have my own pair of warm woolen mittens that are both pretty and functional 🙂

Burnside Tunic

This cute little tunic I found on knitpicks.com I think would be the perfect step from my knitted vest to a more sweater type item.   I plan on knitting this with a lovely woman I am teaching to knit once I can get the money…why does knitting sweaters have to be so darn spendy?!

 

Also on my knitting 2-do list are a number of hats, mittens, socks, scarves, and cowls that I am starting to feel may or may not get done.  But I have learned that if I don’t take the time to knit for myself I risk turning knitting into a job and not a pleasure.  And if the knitter ain’t happy, ain’t no body happy 😉

 

 

Leave a Reply

