Two Week Recap

26 Sep

I just realized that my knitting life has been pretty busy the past couple weeks and I don’t think I have updated my blog to let you all know.

Bowling+Knitting=Mittens

I recently discovered a new place and time to knit during the week.  My husband’s bowling league night on Fridays.  It seems very “white-pickett-fence” to me that my husband is on a bowling league, but it is a lot of fun to hang out with some good people at a great bar and bowling alley.  I was able to work up a mitten order for a co-worker of my mom’s while watching the boys bowl on Fridays.   I call them Tamara mittens because the first pair I ever knitted I made for my sister in law, Tamara, here is a pictures of the finished mittens.

 

The Road Trip

A few weekends ago my husband and I took a quick road trip to Green River, Wyoming for my nephew’s 4-year Transformers Birthday Party.  It is a 3.5 hour drive to get there from Casper so I had plenty of time to finish up the above mittens on the drive there.  Then on the drive back I knitted a beret for a friend of mine using the Baroness Beret Pattern by Susan Powers .  This is one of my favorite berets to make and gift, I usually add one more pattern repeat to make it a little slouchier.  I have another one on my list of projects for another family member.  Both the Beret and the Mittens were knit in Debbie Bliss Cashmerino Aran weight, which worked great for the mittens, but it wasn’t stretchy enough for the beret tubular cast on, so I did a lot of stretching in the blocking process.

New Yarn and New Organization

I also took a couple trips to the yarn store and got to play in some new yarn, and I also bought an inexpensive bookshelf to try to keep my ducks in a row. I am really liking how organized and clean it feels.

Learning To Knit Night

I also organized a night to teach a few friends to knit.  Out of the 7 that told me they could go, 4 had to cancel do to scheduling conflicts.  So me and the other 3 ladies enjoyed some snacks, some wine, and knitting.  One of the ladies was left handed and that posed a struggle for me, but one of the other girls caught on quick and then was about to reverse what she had learned to show her how to knit backwards and it worked out.  I hope they all keep at it and learn to love it as much as I do.  Unfortunately my dog, Patsy, was not a fan of knit night:

Diaper Bike

One of the ladies I taught to knit is a dear friend and is expecting her 2nd boy in just a few weeks.  So after seeing her at my place of some knitting I went to her baby shower where I gifted her my first ever diaper bike.

I saw something similar on Pinterest, so I decided I wanted to give it a try.  Here is the link that I used to make it: http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=kWyHxLzJLOU&feature=related

 

 

 

 

2 Responses to “Two Week Recap”

  1. Dorine hixon May 24, 2012 at 7:09 am #

    Hi,
    I am desperately seeking the pattern for a hat that I think you knitted – Baroness Beret. It is no longer available on any web site that I can find. I was wondering if you have the pattern and would be willing to share, I would so appreciate receiving it.
    Thanks for your time,
    Dorine I’m Maryland

    • Bina T. May 26, 2012 at 2:00 pm #

      Oh no! Luckily I find my .pdf copy I would be glad to share it, I will e-mail it to you. Let me know if you don’t receive it. Thanks

Leave a Reply

