My First Knitted Garment!

9 Sep


I finished my knitted vest, using Alegra DaSilva’s Sequoia Pattern on Ravelry, September 4th and am VERY happy with it.  There are only two mistakes, both of which are hidden.  The first mistake was on the cabling, I purled when I should have knitted, but no one would be able to notice unless they were looking for it.  And on one of the shoulders, somehow when I was grafting it one of the loose stitches wouldn’t pull tight not matter what I did, so I twisted and sewed the loop to the inside of the vest, you can not tell from the knitted side, but if you turned it over you could see it, but I sewed it in good enough that it won’t loosen or cause any wholes.

I used KnitPicks Cadena Bulky Yarn on size 9 needles, and was very happy with being on gauge before I started.  Gauge is awesome…when you are actually on it.  I used this yarn mainly for the price, I bought 9 hanks and used about 7.25 hanks.  The yarn is 70% Peruvian Highland Wool and 30% Superfine Alpaca, and is more itchy than soft but for the price I would use it again, it isn’t the best yarn, but I think it is the most affordable yarn without feel cheap.

Here are pictures of the knitting as I progressed through it:

They aren’t the best pictures, I don’t have the best photography skills, but you get to see my beautiful dog Patsy, and my trucker hips 🙂

Results after 1 hank

That little string is a life line I put in just in case, but I didn’t end up needing it.

 The Right Front piece completed 45 rows total.  I also put in a life line before shaping the arm and neck holes but didn’t need it either.

Both fronts and back completed, then I grafted and picked up stitches for the collar and TaDa!

 

I would recommend this pattern to anyone who wants to try their first knitted garment, you don’t have to worry about real advanced knitting skills beyond cabling, kitchener stitch, and decreases.  It only took me 3 weeks to complete, and that includes me having a day job, so I think that is pretty good.  And just in time for fall too!

Leave a Reply

