25 Things About Me

29 Jun

I was inspired to write this blog after reading a great 25 things from a fellow knitter’s blog, Sereknitty & Purls .  I might struggle with finding 25 things people don’t know about me,  I consider myself a pretty open book, but here it goes 🙂

1. I can’t make the “live long and prosper” sign with my fingers, I can put my index and middle fingers together, but the others just won’t go.

2.  I have always wanted a dress like Ginger Rogers

3.  I would rather purl than knit. When I learned how to knit I developed this method of using my thumb to move the yarn onto the needle when I purl, and it goes much faster.  I am sure if a knitter saw me knit they would think I was very odd.

4.  Sometimes I browse http://www.ravelry.com to help me fall asleep. Better than warm milk.

5.  Having a large yarn stash drives me crazy, I want my yarn orderly and under control, but I constantly want to buy new yarn, it’s a vicious cycle.

6.  I enjoy smoking cigars with a huge glass of red wine, it is how I met my husband 🙂

7.  I love pickles with Chocolate Milk (not mixed together just at the same time)

8.  I think the worst author in the world is Stephanie Meyer. Reading the Twilight books was like reading an over hormonal Dick and Jane book.  But I will give credit where credit is due, she is good with plot.

9.  I have been working on this list now for three days just trying to think of things

10.   I don’t like roses, give me Daisies and Lilies any day 🙂

11.  I miss planning my weddings, I see so many good party ideas on the web and I just wish I could plan another wedding all over again.

12.  I have been both homeless and laid off in my life time.  Not to the extent that many people have been, I was lucky enough to have friends to stay with until I could move, and I was only laid off for 3 weeks, some of the other 250 employees haven’t been so lucky, the lay off was in July, 2010.

13.  I miss having an easy job where I just take orders for office supplies all day.

14.  My favorite activity to do with my nieces and nephews is coloring in a coloring book.  I love how different aspects of their personalities come out when they are creating.

15.  I wish I could wear vintage high heel shoes with 6 to 8 inch heels without looking like an Amazon, I am already 5’9, the extra height just looks odd on me.

16.  This is no secret, but my favorite TV shows are Ghost Hunters on SyFy and So You Think You Can Dance on Fox (I will even find I quit knitting I get so into the shows)

17.  I read Tarot cards, (but am really out of practice) and I don’t practice any other New Age or Wicca Practices, I just love the art and archetypes and think they are fun at parties 🙂 .

18.   I taught myself how to play the piano at 7 years old and have loved music ever since.  I currently play piano (but can’t read music), guitar, and a  little bit of banjo (it was a wedding gift)

19.  I have always wanted to learn to play a squeeze box and a Dobro

20.  I have never knitted with cotton yarn, I have tried it a couple of times and just didn’t like it, but I don’t think it was very good yarn to start with.

21.  When people first meet me I think I am being quiet and shy, but I have been told by others that I sometimes come off as stuck up and cold.

22.  I am a double-Aries both my sun and moon signs are in Aries, but my rising sign is Taurus, I have always thought that was interesting, and to show you how much I don’t really follow this stuff, I married a Scorpio 🙂

23.  I like classic muscle cars

24.  ATVs and 4-wheelers still freak me out since I had an accident on one several years ago, I wasn’t too badly hurt, banged up a lot, and about 1-2 hours of my life is just gone, I don’t remember most of what happened.

25.  I love mythology, all of them

I hope I didn’t bore anyone too much.  Thanks again to Caren for posting her and inspiring me to post my 25 things.  I hope that you will also take the time to post this.

Thanks All!

Leave a Reply

