Links and Things

13 May

I decided to take a few days off of knitting, I know it’s a crazy thought, but even I need to step away from the needles so that I don’t get so fixated on it that I no longer enjoy it.

But you will be happy to know that I picked my needles back up and am busy working on a secret gift for someone.  I can not even hint at who or what it is for because it would definitely give it away, but once it is finished and/or gifted I will post some pictures.  Right now all I will tell you is I am really enjoying how it is coming along and the versatility of the project gave me an idea on how I can mix it up and adapt it to make different versions of the same thing.

And without further ado, here is a quick picture of the finished clutch I knitted from Laura Zukaite’s Beaded Clutch Pattern:

I am still deciding how I want to do the closure, right now it is just tied closed with a linen ribbon.  I did not do the beading from the original pattern because I couldn’t find any beads that I liked.  I did use a piece of plastic to make it  stiffer, the only plastic I could find big enough was for stenciling on walls, so it light weight and the perfect flexibility, but it is noisy, you can tell there is a piece of plastic in it which I don’t really like.  I am tempted to take it out and try just regular purse lining.

At first I was worried about the yarn used, KnitPicks Wool of the Andes and it did soften after I blocked it, but I still think the next time I knit a clutch I will use a yarn that has a bit of a sheen to it to make it look more dressy for going out.

I also was surprised how large this clutch ended up.  It measures 14 x 15 before folding, and after folding it into thirds is still 14 inches long, I have a hard time toting around that long of a purse when I am out to dinner, I would rather have something small that I can place in my lap or on the table without it being in the way.

I do enjoy that the pattern is basically just a square so I can change the stitch pattern and size of the square and get a variety of different clutches.  It also makes me want to explore maybe a clutch with a wire clasp and other classy bags for going out.

The idea of just changing the stitch pattern has lead me to look around the web for some good sites for knit stitches.  When I started knitting I used Knitting On the Net a lot to practice different stitches.  This was before I discovered Ravelry or Knitting stitch books, like Vogue Knitting: The Ultimate Knitting Book.

I recently came across CraftCookie, and discovered a lot of different stitch patterns that I never would have thought of.  I wish I could be as creative as many knitters out there. I have to do a lot of copying before I can create my own thing.  Still being new to the craft means I am not always sure what knitting is capable of, but I am amazed everyday by what people are doing with it.

Like Yarn Bombing!

2 Responses to “Links and Things”

  1. Michelle May 13, 2011 at 4:29 pm #

    I really like the clutch! It looks very stylish. I also like hearing about your experiences with the pattern, and what you would change. I learn a lot from reading your blogs!

    • Bina T. May 25, 2011 at 7:44 pm #

      I am so glad you found the information useful! I look forward to one day blogging some different clutches that I experiment with.

Leave a Reply

