Some Creative Blocking

29 Apr

I finished the knitting part of the Clutch last night and  decided to block it before I left for work this morning.  Since it was a rainy/snowy Friday morning, both my husband and I had a slow start and so I had to get a little creative with my blocking.

I did not intend for it to look like a Budweiser advertisement, but I used what I could grab as I was walking out the door.  I am lucky that it is basically a 14×14 square right now and just needed to be placed flat and the edges pulled straight.  The actual pattern does not state to block it, just to assemble and go, but I really wanted to block it before I started the assembly part so I had a better piece of material to work with.

At this point in my knitting life, I am still lacking some essential knitting supplies, including blocking boards or blocking wires.  So far for blocking I have used what I could find around the house.  I have used the ironing board often for scarfs (though sometimes it is not long enough), bowls and….my personal favorite….dinner plates for berets.

I would be very interested to hear it you have used alternative blocking for any of your projects, or if you have any advice for a new knitter learning to block.

Looking forward to the finished knitted clutch!

Leave a Reply

